THE BOOK OF GOTHEL

Everyone knows the tale of Rapunzel in her tower, but do you know the story of the witch who put her there?

“Smart, swift, sure-footed and fleet-winged, The Book of Gothel launches its magic from a most reliable source: the troubled heart. Mary McMyne is a magician.”—Gregory Maguire, NYT bestselling author of Wicked

Germany, 1156. Haelewise has always lived under the shadow of her mother, Hedda—a woman who will do anything to keep her daughter protected. For with her strange black eyes and even stranger fainting spells, Haelewise is shunned by her medieval village, and her only solace lies in the stories her mother tells of child-stealing witches, of princes in wolf-skins, of an ancient tower cloaked in mist, where women will find shelter if they are brave enough to seek it.

Then, Hedda dies, and Haelewise is left unmoored. With nothing left for her in her village, she sets out to find the legendary tower her mother used to speak of—a place called Gothel, where Haelewise meets a wise woman willing to take her under her wing.

But Haelewise is not the only woman to seek refuge at Gothel. It’s also a haven for a girl named Rika, who carries with her a secret the Church strives to keep hidden. A secret that unlocks a dark world of ancient spells and murderous nobles behind the world Haelewise has always known…

In the vein of Wicked, Spinning Silver, and Hild, The Book of Gothel is a dark, lush, and beautiful reimagining of Rapunzel from the witch’s perspective, a tale of motherhood, magic, and the stories we pass down to our children.

Praise for The Book of Gothel

“McMyne’s shimmering debut gives a fresh, exciting backstory to one of the most famous villains in fairy tale lore: the witch who put Rapunzel in her tower… The result is a sprawling epic, full of magic, love, and heartbreak. Fans of Circe and The Wolf and the Woodsman will devour this taut, empowering fairy tale.”Publisher’s Weekly (starred review)

“One of our favorite kind of multi-layered fictions: it offers both a 12th century woman’s memoir and the story of the modern-day scholar who finds [and] translates [it]… utterly inventive and a real pleasure to read.” Sustainable Arts Foundation

“An inventive retelling of a classic tale that pulls you deep into the wild woods of medieval Germany. The Book of Gothel is a spell-binding debut.”— Signe Pike, author of The Lost Queen and The Forgotten Kingdom

“Certain stories endure because of their beauty, wonder, and wisdom. The Book of Gothel is such a novel—one that will hold readers in delighted thrall right to the startling end.” Ronlyn Domingue, author of The Mercy of Thin Air and the Keeper of Tales Trilogy

“Mary McMyne’s The Book of Gothel is a gut-punch of a fantasy novelI found myself completely enraptured by this story within a story, and even more taken by the end, which I totally didn’t see coming. Gothel feels both familiar and like a completely original fairy tale, and I was moved by the Jewish representation. This is Rapunzel like you’ve never seen her before.” Rena Rossner, author of The Sisters of the Winter Wood

“This is the fairy tale retelling I never knew I needed. Rooted in history, The Book of Gothel highlights the relationships between women and the ways in which we both help and hinder each other in the name of love and loyalty. Haelewise will be in my heart for a very long time.”–Genevieve Gornichec, author of The Witch’s Heart

“Both gently and fiercely told, The Book of Gothel is a sweeping, sharp story of how history twists into fairytale and back again.” Hannah F. Whitten, New York Times bestselling author of For the Wolf

The Book of Gothel delivers an intelligent spin on a well-loved fairy tale, the rich historical detail deftly woven with folktale magic and thoughtful characterisation.”—Rowenna Miller, author of Torn

The Book of Gothel is wonderfully rich with historical detail, and sparkles with the intermingled magic of gods and goddesses, seers and wisewomen. Haelewise is a memorable heroine, worthy of legend. Readers will see the story of Rapunzel in a new and refreshing light.” Louisa Morgan, author of A Secret History of Witches

“Fable and history rhyme in McMyne’s captivating vision of a medieval past steeped in women’s magic and bound by women’s love.” Jordanna Max Brodsky, author of the Olympus Bound trilogy

“A fresh reimagining of the story of Rapunzel’s witch… Readers who have enjoyed Gregory Maguire’s “Wicked Years” series will find McMyne’s perspective delightful.” Library Journal

Sign up for my very occasional newsletter to get the inside scoop on book news, releases, and giveaways.
Plus, special offers and giveaways for subscribers only!

Recent News

Back to Vermont Studio Center

I’m so grateful to the National Endowment for the Arts, which funded the two-week fellowship and stipend I’ve received to Vermont Studio Center to work on my novel-in-progress, THE BOOK…

Read more

Residency at Vermont Studio Center

I just finished a month-long writing residency at Vermont Studio Center, where I spent each day writing in a beautiful studio with a view of the Gihon River and attended readings, slideshows, and talks almost every night.…

Read more

Medieval Women: Beatrice of Burgundy

In honor of Women’s History Month, today, I’m posting about one of the medieval women I’ve been researching for my novel in progress. Relatively little is known of Beatrice of Burgundy…

Read more

Back from Germany

I had an amazing time in Germany, researching medieval Konstanz and Freiburg, exploring city museums, hiking the Black Forest, and visiting Hildegard of Bingen’s abbey. ‘The Book of Gothel’, my novel-in-progress, is…

Read more

Planning Trip to Germany

It’s spring break, so I finally have some time to start planning my trip to Germany to research The Book of Gothel. The trip is set for this summer. A few…

Read more